FAYETTEVILLE Arkansas forward Marshawn Powell and guard BJ Young have been named second-team All-Southeastern Conference selections.

The conference unveiled its postseason awards Tuesday morning. Arkansas' two leading scorers were among nine players selected to the second team, while eight players earned first-team honors. The first team included Georgia's Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, who was named SEC Player of the Year.

Young and Powell earned SEC honors after leading the Razorbacks to a 19-12 record in the regular season. Young who also was an All-SEC second-team selection last season ranks sixth in the SEC in scoring (15.1 points a game) and ninth in assists (3.4 a game). Powell, a team captain, is ninth in the SEC in scoring (14.5 points) and fourth in field goal percentage (49.3 percent).

The duo did not start in the regular season finale against Texas A&M because of what coach Mike Anderson allude to as disciplinary reasons. Young came off the bench to equal his career low with 2 points in 11 minutes, while Powell finished with 10 points in 24 minutes.

It may have been the final regular season home game for both Young and Powell. They're expected to consider an early departure for  professional basketball after the season. The Arkansas student section held up a sign asking both of "one more year" during Saturday's game and chanted it when Powell checked out of the game in the final minute.

Both players will be key to Arkansas' postseason success. The Razorbacks open SEC Tournament play against Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn., on Thursday at 6:30 p.m.

Robbie Neiswanger Arkansas News Bureau