LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Senate on Wednesday approved a measure aimed at keeping fines for seat belt violations the same statewide.

In a 29-0 vote, the Senate approved Senate Bill 201 by Rep. Terry Rice, R-Waldron. The bill would prohibit local governments from adding fines, fees or costs to the $25 fine established in Arkansas law for violating the state’s seat belt law.

Rice told senators some local governments have been raising the fine to exorbitant levels. He said his bill would not prohibit local governments from penalizing people for failing to pay their fines on time.

The bill goes to the House.