LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Game and Fish Foundation on Thursday named the 2017 inductees to the Arkansas Outdoor of Hall of Fame and the recipient of its Legacy Award.

The inductees are former Gov. and U.S. Sen. David Pryor; Ross Whipple, board chairman of The Ross Foundation; and Mark Karnes, director of The Ross Foundation. The Legacy Award will be given posthumously to former Lt. Gov. Winthrop Paul Rockefeller.

The foundation said Pryor’s years of public service at the state and federal level “resulted in landmark achievements in conservation, advancing the outdoors experience enjoyed today throughout Arkansas.”

The work of Whipple and Karnes with The Ross Foundation, an Arkadelphia-based foundation, has provided millions of dollars for forestry research, conservation management, education and historical preservation, the Game and Fish Foundation said.

Rockefeller’s legacy includes being the driving force behind the creation of The Nature Conservancy in Arkansas, founding the International Billfish Conservation Foundation and serving on the national board for Boy Scouts of America, the foundation said.

The honorees will be recognized during the annual Arkansas Outdoor Hall of Fame Banquet on Aug. 11 at the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock.

Established in 1982, the foundation is an independently operated, nonprofit organization supporting the goals of the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.