LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Asa Hutchinson on Monday submitted to President Donald Trump a formal request for a federal disaster declaration for 31 Arkansas counties affected by severe storms, flooding and tornadoes in April and May.

Hutchinson said in a statement he submitted the request upon completion of damage assessments by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management. The severe weather caused more than $13 million in damages, he said.

“I am hopeful that this request will result in some relief for those still reeling from the damage caused by the storms of the last two months,” Hutchinson said.

The governor requested the declaration for Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell counties.

Hutchinson declared the affected counties as state disaster areas in May after preliminary damage assessments were conducted. Because of the extensive nature of the flooding and the inaccessibility of certain areas, the more in-depth damage assessments required for a federal declaration took longer to complete, according to the governor’s office.