LITTLE ROCK —The six members of Arkansas’ congressional delegation sent a letter Tuesday to President Donald Trump in support of a request by Gov. Asa Hutchinson for a federal disaster declaration for 31 Arkansas counties.

U.S. Sens. John Boozman and Tom Cotton, both R-Ark., and Reps. Bruce Westerman, R-Hot Springs, Rick Crawford, R-Jonesboro, French Hill, R-Little Rock, and Steve Womack, R-Rogers, joined in signing the letter urging the declaration following severe storms, flooding and tornadoes in April and May.

Hutchinson’s request includes Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Cleburne, Conway, Craighead, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Montgomery, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell counties.

The delegation said in its letter, “Unfortunately, as a result of these storms, the state has suffered 10 fatalities and the displacement of many residents to shelters across the state. As we see in many crises, people have come to the aid of their neighbors; however, the extent of the damage has overwhelmingly surpassed the state government’s ability to respond.”