LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Mike Beebe has asked President Obama for a major disaster declaration for six northern Arkansas counties impacted by severe storms and torrential flooding beginning Aug. 8, Beebe’s office said Tuesday

The counties are Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion and Newton. Some parts of the region received 15 inches of rain in less than a week.

The declaration would make Arkansas eligible to receive federal aid to help the state, cities and counties recover from infrastructure damage. State and federal damage assessments totaled $5.6 million, with nearly all of that damage occurring to roads and bridges.

About 30 highways and 100 residential roads closed at some point due to flooding. Emergency responders conducted 16 successful water rescues.