LITTLE ROCK — Republicans were sworn into leadership positions Monday in the state House and Senate as the GOP officially became the Legislature’s majority party, though Democrats were named to key positions in the House.

With a 21-14 advantage in the Senate and a 51-48 margin in the House, Sen. Michael Lamoureux, R-Russellville, was installed as Senate president pro tem and Rep. Davy Carter, R-Cabot, as House speaker.

Carter named Rep. Darrin Williams, D-Little Rock, speaker pro tem, and as assistant speakers pro tem Reps. Reginald Murdock, D-Marianna, Ann Clemmer, R-Benton, Micah Neal, R-Springdale, and Bruce Cozart, R-Hot Springs.

The speaker also named committee chairs for the following House committees:

—Revenue and Tax: Rep. Charlie Collins, R-Fayetteville

—Education: Rep. James McLean, D-Batesville

—Insurance and Commerce: Rep. Tommy Wren, D-Melbourne

—Judiciary: Rep. Marshall Wright, D-Forrest City

—Public Health, Welfare and Labor: Rep. John Burris, R-Harrison

—Agriculture and Economic Development: Rep. Matthew Shepherd, R-El Dorado

—State Agencies and Governmental Affairs: Rep. Andrea Lea, R-Russellville

—City, County and Local Affairs: Rep. David Fielding, D-Magnolia

—Public Transportation: Rep. Jonathan Barnett, R-Springdale

—Rules: Rep. Stephanie Malone, R-Fort Smith

—Aging, Legislative, Youth: Rep. David Meeks, R-Conway

—Joint Retirement: Rep. Allen Kerr, R-Little Rock

—Joint Energy: Rep. David Branscum, R-Marshall

Also Monday, members of the Joint Budget Committee elected Rep. Duncan Baird, R-Lowell, as the House co-chairman and House members selected Rep. John Edwards, D-Little Rock, as co-chairman of the Legislative Council, which oversees state government between legislative sessions.

The Senate leadership was announced in November.