LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Mike Beebe appointed seven members to the Vision 2025 Legislative Commission on the Future of Higher Education on Wednesday.

The commission was created under Act 1083 of 2013 and "shall study, research, and brainstorm ways in which higher education" can raise the number of Arkansans with college degrees or certificates by an institution of higher education. The commission also will study barriers that impede access to higher education, such as cost and scholarship availability, and present a progress report to the Legislature by Nov. 1, 2014.

Members appointed Wednesday include:

—University of Arkansas System President Donald Bobbitt.

—Chad Brown, North Little Rock.

—Denise Garner, Fayetteville.

—Nate Looney, Jonesboro.

—Sarah Roberson, Little Rock.

—Samuel Sicard, Fort Smith.

—George West, North Little Rock.

The appointments are new and expire Jan. 1, 2017.

They were among 34 appointments to state boards and commissions the governor announced Wednesday.

Others appointed:

—Erna Boone, Cabot, reappointed to the Arkansas Respiratory Care Examining Committee. Appointment expires Aug. 7, 2016.

—Matthew Buchman, Paragould, replaces Less Jackson on the State Marketing Board for Recyclables. Appointment expires July 31, 2017.

—Bobby Burns, Beebe, reappointed to the State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors. Appointment expires June 1, 2016.

—Niki Cung, Fayetteville, reappointed to the Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council. Appointment expires July 1, 2015.

—Tamika Edwards, Little Rock, replaces William Page on the Pulaski Technical College Board of Trustees. Appointment expires July 1, 2020.

—David Elam, Danville, reappointed to the Arkansas Agricultural Board. Appointment expires Aug. 18, 2017.

—Wes Fowler, Huntsville, reappointed to the Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council. Appointment expires July 1, 2017.

—Ronald Harder, Little Rock, to the Interstate Commission on Education Opportunity for Military Children. Appointment expires August 15, 2017. This is a new position.

—Kristin Hodge, Little Rock, replaces Marilyn Nabholz on the Advisory Council for the Education of Gifted and Talented Children. Appointment expires June 20, 2016.

—Beverly Lyn-Cook, Little Rock, replaces Kurt Knickrehm on the Arkansas Biosciences Institute Board. Appointment expires Oct. 1, 2017.

—Lisa McDermott, Texarkana, replaces Cynthia Wolfe on the Arkansas State Board of Acupuncture and Related Techniques. Appointment expires July 31, 2016.

—Al Miller, Forrest City, replaces John Stipe on the East Arkansas Community College Board of Trustees. Appointment expires Dec. 31, 2014.

—Dr. Michael Pollock, Little Rock, reappointed to the Governor’s Trauma Advisory Council. Appointment expires July 1, 2015.

—Eddie Schmeckenbecher, Little Rock, reappointed to the Arkansas Child Abuse, Rape and Domestic Violence Commission. Appointment expires July 1, 2015.

—Annette Watson, Lonoke, reappointed to the Arkansas Child Abuse, Rape and Domestic Violence Commission. Appointment expires July 1, 2015.

To the Arkansas Coalition for Juvenile Justice Board:

—Kay Forrest, Cherokee Village.

—Captain Lloyd Franklin Sr., Pine Bluff.

—Brittany Parnell-Quinn, Mena.

—Jerry Walsh, Magnolia.

These reappointments expire Aug. 15, 2016.

To the Electronic Recording Commission:

—Andrea Billingsley, Foreman. Reappointment.

—Sharon Blout-Baker, Alma. Replaces J.T. Ferstl.

—Mayme Brown, Donaldson. Replaces Phyllis Villines.

—Alicia Nowotny, Clarksville. Replaces Alma Davis.

—Martha Smith, Arkadelphia. Reappointment.

—Laurie Westfall, Nashville. Reappointment.

—Rhonda Wharton, Conway. Reappointment.

—Cheryl Wilson, El Dorado. Reappointment.

These appointments expire Sept. 1, 2015.