LITTLE ROCK — State Education Commissioner Tom Kimbrell said Tuesday that three Arkansas schools are eligible to receive up to $11 million in federal School Improvement Grants over the next three years.

The schools are Forrest City High School, which qualified to receive $4.9 million; Hughes High School, $1.8 million; and McClellan High School in Little Rock, $4.3 million.

The grants, awarded through a competitive application process, must be used to implement one of the four school improvement models required by the federal government, Kimbrell said.

The schools will incorporate the "transformational" model, which calls for replacing the principal and improving the school through comprehensive curriculum reform, professional development, extended learning time and other strategies.

Under the federal No Child Left Behind law, schools that do no meet adequate yearly progress are considered to be in need of improvement.

To date, Arkansas has received $51.8 million since the SIG program was redesigned in 2009.