BENTON – Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge today awarded the Logan County Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award to Trooper Jed Bolyard with Arkansas State Police.

Rutledge presented the county winners at the annual awards and recognition luncheon during the 2018 Arkansas Law Enforcement Summit at the Benton Event Center.

“Honoring law enforcement officers from across our great state is humbling and a great honor,” said Attorney General Rutledge. “Our brave men and women in blue sacrifice so much for their communities, going above and beyond to keep their neighbors safe from harm. With 2018 being a record year for nominations, I would like to congratulate and thank some of the best law enforcement officers in the nation.”

In addition to the statewide and regional Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer of the Year awards, Rutledge recognized one law enforcement officer from each county as an Outstanding Law Enforcement Officer winner. Recipients recognized are college or university, municipal, county, federal or State law enforcement officers who have gone the extra mile. The Attorney General accepted nominations from police chiefs, county sheriffs, county judges, mayors, prosecutors and other State law enforcement leaders from across Arkansas.

Bolyard’s selection marks the second straight a Booneville officer has received the award. Last year’s selection by Rutledge was former Booneville Police Chief Al Brown.