LITTLE ROCK — Residents of Fort Smith, Alma, Dover, Malvern and Mountain Home were inducted into the state’s Senior Hall of Fame on Tuesday, the state Department of Human Services announced.

The Senior Hall of Fame honors Arkansans 65 and older who, through volunteering, have worked to improve and enhance the lives of seniors in Arkansas.

This year’s inductees are:

—Jean Ann Roddy, 71, of Fort Smith, an alumna of the Silver-Haired Legislature who delivers Meals on Wheels.

—Warren Blaylock, 92, of Alma, who serves on the Crawford County Hospital Board of Directors and has served as a volunteer auctioneer for various charities.

—Wetzel LaGrone, 79, of Dover, an artist who has donated several of his works to fundraising events and was the chairman for three Silver Haired Legislature sessions.

—Ann Ashcroft, 78, of Malvern, who has served on several boards and councils, including the Area on Agency Board of Directors as a member and the Hot Springs County Homemakers Council as president.

—Paul Mruk, 68, of Mountain Home, a Marine Corps and Air Force veteran. He and his wife run the Mruk Family Educational Center on Aging, and he serves as chairman of the Governor’s Advisory Council on Aging.

"We have people pushing every day to make sure our seniors have a voice in public policy and have the things they need to live life to the fullest," DHS Deputy Director Steven Jones said in a news release. "It’s crucial that we recognize this hard work because we couldn’t do it without them."

The award is given each year in May to coincide with Older Americans Month.