LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Mike Beebe on Wednesday appointed state Court of Appeals Judge Cliff Hoofman, who previously served on the state Highway Commission, to the Arkansas Supreme Court.

The governor also appointed former state Sen. Bill Walmsley of Batesville to the state Court of Appeals.

Hoofman will replace Justice Robert Brown. He will be sworn in on Jan. 1 and his term will expire Dec. 21, 2014.

Hoofman was appointed to the state Highway Commission in 2007. In January 2011 he resigned that seat and was appointed by Beebe to fill the appeals court post left vacant when Judge Karen Baker was elected to the state Supreme Court. His term on the appeals court was to end at the end of December.

Hoofman served eight years in the state Senate and 20 years before that in the state House. He also worked in the attorney general’s office during Beebe’s tenure as attorney general from 2003-2007.

Walmsley replaces Judge Jo Hart on the court of appeals and his term expires Dec. 31. 2014.

Hart was elected to an eight-year term on the Arkansas Supreme Court earlier this year.

Other appointments by Beebe to state boards and commissions, include:

—Doug Martin of Fayetteville to the 4th Judicial District, 2nd Division, replacing Judge Kim Smith. The appointment expires Dec. 31, 2014.

—H.G. Foster of Conway to the 20th Judicial District, 1st Division, replacing Judge David Reynolds. The appointment expires Dec. 31, 2014.

—Will Feland of Cabot to the 23rd Judicial District, 2nd Division, replacing Judge Phillip Whiteaker. The appointment expires Dec. 31, 2014.

—P. Luevonda Ross of Monticello to the Drew County District Court, replacing Ken Harper. The appointment expires Dec. 31, 2014.

—Jason Duffy of Yellville to the Marion County District Court. The appointment, which fills a vacancy, expires Dec. 31, 2014.

All the judicial appointments are effective Jan. 1, except for Ross, who is to be sworn in immediately.